Indian athletics team will be led by Neeraj Chopra

The 37-member Indian athletics team will be led by Neeraj Chopra at the Commonwealth Games.

The 37-member Indian athletics team for the 2019 Commonwealth Games was announced by the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) on Thursday. The team will be captained by Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra.
So, the 37-member Indian athletics team, led by Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra. And was announced by the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) on Thursday for the forthcoming Commonwealth Games. So, the selection committee chose the athletes along predicted lines with few significant surprises. 18 of the 37 athletes chosen by the AFI selection committee are female, including renowned sprinters Hima Das and Dutee Chand, who qualified through the women’s 4x100m relay team.

The men’s 4×400-meter relay team was also named by the selectors.

So, Avinash Sable, who just broke his own 3000 m steeplechase national record for the seventh time, and Jyothi Yarraji, who recently broke her own 100 m NR thrice, are other members of the team.

It also includes Aishwarya Babu, who recently competed in the National Inter-State Championships in Chennai and broke her own national record in the triple jump with a remarkable 14.14m effort. Amlan Borgohain, who holds the 200-meter national record and won the 100- and 200-meter sprint events at the National Inter-State. Missed the trip because he fell short of the AFI’s CWG qualification mark. Even though they were chosen, some of the athletes will need to demonstrate their fitness and form prior to the Birmingham Games.

Given her previous exploits at the Games, veteran discus thrower Seema Punia has been given the opportunity to compete in her fifth CWG. She must, however, meet the AFI qualifying criteria in a competition held in the USA before she can participate.

Punia has received a medal in each of the previous four CWGs.

According to AFI President Adele Sumariwalla, “Seema Punia’s participation in the CWG will unquestionably depend on her performance in the USA.”

Punia missed the June 10–14 National Inter-State Senior Championships, which served as the CWG selection event. “We have permitted her to prepare and participate in the USA considering her past successes in the CWG and Asian Games,” he stated.

In addition to Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav will represent India in the men’s javelin throw at the Birmingham Games. In the men’s triple jump, Eldhose Paul, Praveen Chithravel, and Abdulla Aboobacker all made the team.

So, We are asking the Indian Olympic Association to help us secure accreditation for a few competitors and enhance our quota by one. Additionally, we have chosen a small number of athletes to test their form and fitness before the Games explained Sumariwalla.

A quota of 36 spots in the Indian team for the Games from July 28 to August 8 has been allocated to the AFI.

Tajinderpal Singh Toor, a shot putter, will need to compete well in Kazakhstan. While Amoj Jacob has been chosen for the men’s 4x400m relay team. So, Subject to his level of recuperation and fitness.

During the Inter-State Championships, Jacob injured his hamstring while running the final leg for the India “A” squad.

So, Similar to Sarita Singh, discus throwers Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia will have to compete in Kazakhstan or California. Bhawna Jat, a race walker, must demonstrate her fitness and be declared the AFI president.

Tejaswin Shankar, the national record holder in the high jump, was not chosen since he did not compete in the National Inter-State and did not request an exemption. So, Tejaswin Shankar won gold at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships 2022 last week in the US with a season-best leap of 2.27m.

The Team: Men:

Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase); Nitender Rawat (Marathon); M Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Long Jump); Abdulla Aboobacker, Praveen Chithravel and Eldhose Paul (Triple Jump); Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Shot Put); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (Javelin Throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (Race Walking); Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Ajmal, Naganathan Pandi and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m Relay).



S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay); Jyothi Yarraji (100mHurdles); Aishwarya B (Long Jump and Triple Jump) and Ancy Sojan (Long Jump); Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put); Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia (Discus Throw); Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (Javelin Throw); Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (Hammer Throw); Bhawna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (Race Walking); Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, MV Jilna and NS Simi (4x100m relay).

Top Best online betting sites in India


Get an online betting id on

Betting Id

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *