Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj will lead swimming team

At the Commonwealth Games, Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj will lead the Indian swimming team.

At the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, the star duo of Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj will coach a four-person Indian swimming squad.

The four-person Indian swimming squad will compete in the Birmingham Commonwealth Games under the direction of the star tandem of Sajan Prakash and Srihari Nataraj. In addition to Prakash and Nataraj, fast-rising Delhi swimmer Kushagra Rawat and Madhya Pradesh’s Advait Page will be making their competition debuts at the quadrennial competition, which is scheduled to take place in Birmingham, UK, from July 28 to August 8. Swimming Federation of India (SFI) announced that swimmers who finished in the sixth position in their respective events at the 2018 Gold Coast CWG would be given consideration for the quota slots in this edition after securing four spots for the 2022 CWG.

“Srihari, Sajan, Advait, and Kushagra had clocked the sixth-place time from the previous CWG during the qualification period of a year. SFI had established that as the cutoff standard “Monal Chokshi, the secretary-general of SFI, informed PTI.

The seasoned Prakash, who finished sixth in the 200-meter butterfly competition, will be vying for India’s first medal in that event.

He will also compete in the 50- and 100-meter butterfly races during his third CWG season.

On the other side, Nataraj will take part in the 50, 100, and 200-meter backstroke competitions. The 21-year-old Bengaluru swimmer missed the current World Championships in Budapest, making it his first major competition following the Tokyo Olympics.

Advait and Kushagra have earned spots in the 1500m freestyle competition. The former will also compete in the 200- and 400-meter freestyle events.

The swimming competitions will take place from July 29 to August 3.

In able-bodied swimming at the Commonwealth Games, India is still without a medal.

The sole CWG medal won by India in the sport is a bronze medal in the 50-meter freestyle by Prasanta Karmakar at the 2010 event in New Delhi.

Top Best online betting sites in India


Get an online betting id on

Betting Id

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *