Shikhar Dhawan as Punjab Kings captain in the IPL 2023.

The move was on expected lines after the 31-year-old from Karnataka failed to take the team to the IPL playoffs earlier this year.

Shikhar Dhawan has been chosen the Punjab Kings captain for the upcoming IPL 2023. On Wednesday, the franchise’s board of directors made the decision.

After the 31-year-old from Karnataka failed to lead the squad to the IPL playoffs earlier this year, the move was expected.

After KL Rahul decided to join the Lucknow Super Giants, Agarwal was named captain for the 2022 season. Aside from the team’s inconsistency, Agarwal’s form suffered as well, with 196 runs at an average of 16.33.

Last year, the franchise considered making Dhawan the captain, but ultimately chose Agarwal.

“The board of directors has agreed to make Dhawan captain.” “He has all of the experience, both as a player and as a captain in the IPL, and he did well for the squad in his first season last year,” a source told PTI.

Punjab paid Rs 8.25 crore for Dhawan’s services earlier this year in a major auction. The 36-year-old southpaw rewarded the faith by scoring 460 runs in 14 games with a strike rate of 122.66 and an average of 38.33.

Despite giving up leadership to Dhawan, the franchise remains intent on keeping Agarwal. A decision will be made shortly, as the deadline for player retention is November 15.

Despite being a consistent performer in the IPL, Dhawan only plays for India in the 50-over format. He has recently been captaining India’s second-string ODI team and will lead the team in New Zealand later this month. He has previous IPL leadership experience with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Trevor Bayliss, who led England to the 2019 ODI World Cup triumph and KKR to two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014, will be the new head coach for Punjab. Brad Haddin, another Australian, will assist Bayliss.

As the franchise seeks its first championship, the team owners have high expectations for the new coach and captain. Punjab’s only final appearance was in 2014. It has finished sixth in each of the previous four seasons.

For more news and blog: Visit us

Top Best online betting sites in India


Get an online betting id on

Betting Id

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *